Reflection on Merchant of Venice: connect, extend, challenge

connect, extend, challenge

In our Language Art, we read about Merchant of Venice written by Shakespeare. Merchant of Venice is about story showing conflict between Jews and Christians with Antonio and Shylock. Antonio borrows money for Bassanio from Shylock. Antonio need to payback money, but he fail and Shylock try to kill him. Bassanio’s wife, Portia save Antonio’s life and make Shylock to lose everything what he has. We discuss about justice in this book during 6 weeks. Justice can show on 2 different viewpoints with Antonio and Shylock. Our class basically works on justice with Shylock.

I connect with everything what you already knew because I already read this book before in previous school with English. It was easy to me read again and thinks more creatively. I can do works faster than others.

After I read this book, I just think about that justice is for Christians and Shylock is very bad villain. I was confused that justice for Shylock because I never think about reading a book with other viewpoints. When I read a book with a viewpoint on Shylock, I can think for deeply and have extend thoughts.

I find some difficult that why did Christians hate Jews a lot. In Merchant of Venice, Christians never treat Jews. They always blame Jews. I can’t understand why did Christians hate Jew with what reasons. When I write my essay, I write that Christians mistreat Jews, but I had a hard time to write about reasons. I bring to me that think new thing, which not all of Christians hate Jews because there is a marriage between a Christian and a Jew.

Merchant of Venice is a very good movie and play. It really help to understand about prejudice and justice.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0379889/?ref_=fn_al_tt_1

One thought on “Reflection on Merchant of Venice: connect, extend, challenge

  1. You have clearly gained a deeper insight into the play, Taewoong, having read it for a second time. I am glad to see that you got a different viewpoint this time.

    I can never understand why a person can hate another person just because they are a different religion, either. If only it wasn’t the case, we would have far less wars in this world. Sadly, humans never seem to learn from their mistakes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *